## A Brief History of CSHP

Scott E. Walker

The early history of CSHP and each of its branches was published in an exhaustive review by Sister Frances<sup>1-3</sup> (now known as Sister Grace Sauvé). That review was written for the 10th anniversary of CSHP, in partial fulfillment of the requirements for Sister Grace's undergraduate pharmacy degree at the University of Toronto, under the direction of Dr G. Paterson, Professor of the History of Pharmacy. Sister Grace's review served as the basis for the following brief summary.

Before World War II, men and women in various centres across Canada recognized the need for an association of hospital pharmacists to protect their interests and professional standing. One such pharmacist was C.P. Christensen of the Royal Alexandria Hospital in Edmonton, who proposed the formation of local clubs that would eventually unite into a provincial organization. In autumn 1939, the Northern Alberta Hospital Pharmacist Association was organized, followed in April 1940 by the Nova Scotia Unit of Hospital Pharmacists.

Distance and small numbers prevented further progress, and there were no more attempts to establish provincial or local clubs until December 5, 1947, when 17 Ontario pharmacists met at Women's College Hospital in Toronto. This group discussed forming an association of hospital pharmacists to provide mutual support in solving problems. At the first meeting of the newly formed group, in February 1948, the chief organizer, Gordon Smith of Hamilton General Hospital, was elected president and Richard Thompson of Sunnybrook Hospital was elected vice president. Copies of the constitution and by-laws were distributed at this meeting. At the second meeting, in March 1948, Perrin Statia of Kitchener Waterloo Hospital distributed copies of the first issue of a bulletin, which later became the society's official publication, the Hospital Pharmacist.4

Later in 1948, the Ontario group (i.e., the Ontario Branch) submitted the constitution and by-laws to the Secretary of State of the Canadian government, and a Dominion Charter was granted to the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists in 1950.

British Columbia was the second provincial branch to join CSHP. Edwin Smith of Royal Jubilee Hospital in Victoria had previously suggested the formation of a BC organization, but there was no progress until a meeting in October 1948. The BC Branch was accepted into the Society on February 20, 1949. The Nova Scotia Unit of Hospital Pharmacists remained active throughout the



CSHP has used 4 logos in the past 54 years. The logo at the top left was used for the first 6 years. The light blue logo (top middle) was used from 1968 to 1978, and the one at the top right from 1978 to August 2004. At the 2004 Annual General Meeting, CSHP Council adopted a branding policy, whereby the logo must be accompanied by the trademark in both official languages. This new format appears at the bottom.

1940s, primarily through the efforts of Sister Frances de Paul, but did not achieve the CSHP's minimum number of 10 active members until October 1949, when a Newfoundland member joined and the Nova Scotia Unit became the Maritime Branch of the Society. In 1954 the Maritime Branch changed its name to the Atlantic Provinces Branch. New Brunswick formed its own branch in 1967, and the Newfoundland Branch joined the Society in 1996.

In February 1951 the Quebec Branch was formed, and G. Letourneau was elected as the first president. In April 1951 Alberta became the fifth branch of CSHP, under the direction of Walter Maday and Shirley McPhail. Saskatchewan formed a 16-member branch in June 1953, with G. Hamilton of Regina General Hospital as the first president. The Manitoba Branch was formed in November 1953.

## References

- 1. Frances M. The history of the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists. Part I. *Hosp Pharm* 1957;10:269-71, 273-4, 283.
- 2. Frances M. The history of the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists. Part II. *Hosp Pharm* 1958;11:40-1, 45-6, 49, 51.
- 3. Frances M. The history of the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists. Part III. *Hosp Pharm* 1958;11:76-8,87-96.
- 4. Walker SE. A short history of the *Canadian Journal of Hospital Pharmacy. Can J Hosp Pharm* 2004;57:140.

Scott E. Walker, MScPhm, FCSHP, is Editor of CJHP.

